How to write a Book Review

Books 2

I’ve heard so many people say they don’t leave book reviews because they have no idea how. Since book reviews are so tremendously important to authors I thought it a brilliant idea to write a quick and simple beginner’s ‘How to’ guide for writing a book review. I even include some examples. So here goes:

Introduction – Name the book and the author and how you came about buying and reviewing the book. E.g.  A friend gifted me a copy of ‘The Woman with the big toe’ written by M.D. Pain.

What’s the book about – Give a brief description of the book. Avoid giving away the ending or any surprises that could spoil it for other readers. E.g. The story centres on Murielle who discovers her big toe is much bigger than anyone else’s. When she falls in love with the perfect man her perceived deformity comes to the forefront.

What was your favourate part; or What part of the story connected with you (remember not to include spoilers) – As a hopeless romantic I could really identify with Murielle. I felt her pain and worried for her throughout the story. I particularly liked her strength and perseverance.

What is your recommendation? – E.g. I loved this book and think it would be a good fit for readers who enjoy a romantic story with a difference.

That’s it! You’ve written a book review.  So the end result will look like this:

A friend gifted me a copy of ‘The Woman with the big toe’ written by M.D. Pain. The story centres on Murielle who discovers her big toe is much bigger than anyone else’s. When she falls in love with the perfect man her perceived deformity comes to the forefront.

As a hopeless romantic I could really identify with Murielle. I felt her pain and worried for her throughout the story. I particularly liked her strength and perseverance.

I loved this book and think it would be a good fit for readers who enjoy a romantic story with a difference. I give it 5 stars!

Now go forth and write many, many, many reviews!

6 thoughts on “How to write a Book Review

  1. I love to learn when I read, and this post helped me accomplish that. You make it seem so effortless, I have bookmarked this one as a future reference should I need to write a book review. Wish I could write more, but I have had to replace paperbacks with e-reading because it’s so vulgarly expensive to purchase books in my country. I usually invest in several good books when I go shopping however, mostly nonfiction, cause my focus these days is more about learning new things, especially subjects I am curious about and that can enable me to do what I do better without going to school. I’ll be following for more great posts. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Karen! So glad you found the post helpful. I too love to learn from what I read. There was a time when I almost exclusively read non fiction. When you get back to reading for entertainment’s sake let me know. It would be an honour for me to gift you a copy of my fiction ebook. Flick me and email to: jackiemillsauthor@gmail.com when you’re ready. 🙂

      Like

  2. Thank you so much for liking my post on a book. My blog is my attempt at writing book reviews even though I have no real experience of doing it. Reading your tips makes me feel like I’m on the right path!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

