Why no sex scenes?

Over the weekend a reader asked me why I decided against adding sex scenes in my novel, Peril: The Legend of Sedrak. She mentioned that she loved the story, loved the characters, loved the descriptions and absolutely adored the romance which reminded her of an ‘old fashioned love story, without the modern day crudeness’.  “Doesn’t every book nowadays have graphic sex scenes?” the question came.

Well, the answer to that question is of course ‘no’. Not every book nowadays contain graphic sex scenes where every part of the character’s perfect anatomy is described in luscious or sometimes raw detail. Many books do contain an abundance of meticulously described, mostly unrealistic, sexual adventures, but in my experience this does not extent to ‘all’ books ‘nowadays.’

The decision to keep my novel ‘graphic sex free’ was deliberate. It was something that I thought about in the planning stages of my book and it’s a decision I’ve never regretted. The fact of the matter is, I personally do not believe a story, albeit a book or a movie, need contain graphic sex scenes to be good. I’ve read books where the scenes are so out of place and over the top, it actually detracted from the enjoyment of the story.

Sex scenes, as well as crude language should fit within the context of a story and not be used for the mere sake of including it cause ‘everybody else is doing it’. I enjoy a saucy novel as much as the next gal, but for me the scenes should compliment the story and expand the overall character and feel of the book. 🙂

Leave a reply

