REVIEW: With Blood and Scars – B.E. Andre *****

With Blood and Scars - BE Andre

Buy on Amazon

STAR RATING:  5 Stars

Book Description from Amazon

Time is running out for Ania. She needs to ask her dying father a vital question; his answer is the key to how she will lead the rest of her life. She must force him to revisit his childhood in Poland in 1944, a time when decisions about survival were made on the spur of the moment, a place where chaos undermined all previous morality. Who is her father really? Can she bear to find out?
Another secret also torments her: an incident she filed in her memory store. Now the police have found the remains of a child in Whalley Range. Should she try to find the gang of friends from her own childhood days? Or should she keep the secret of what happened then?
This coming-of-age novel is a tale of heroic survival against all odds: a life-affirming story of courage and hope set against harrowing circumstances. It celebrates the goodness that can be found in all nations.

**********

MY REVIEW

With Blood and Scars is B.E Andre’s debut Novel. I truly hope it will not be her last. The story of Ania, Ossie, Gianni, Manuela and Stevo sucked me in, and I was unable and unwilling to get out. It was beautiful and wonderfully funny yet so sad it ripped my heart from my chest and squeezed it until I couldn’t breathe.

What I liked about the book

Oh my goodness where to begin. I loved this book from beginning to end. The writing simply blew me away, and there isn’t a single thing I would change about this book. Even though the book has an aura of sadness and pain, it is also brilliantly funny. The characters were wonderfully complex.

Ania’s character is awesome! I especially loved the tales about her childhood—her irritation with the adult’s preaching, her selfishness so typical of that age group, her lack of understanding for the pain suffered in a war she never experienced.

I couldn’t help but feel immense sympathy for Ania’s father. A broken man struggling with the harsh realities of Nazi invasion and the horrors that came with it. His guilt over things long past and his experiences stained his life, making him cruel and rigid, yet he clearly loved his family and could be so tender and kind.

I so so so wished things could’ve been different for Stevo. My heart just aches for him.

What I didn’t enjoy that much

For me there wasn’t a word out of place in this book. Nothing that niggled me, nothing that I would change.

Final thoughts

This is one of those books that I hope and whish and pray will be read by every single person in the world. My second wish is that they would all love it as much as I did.

STAR RATING: A mind blowing 5 Stars!

Leave a reply

