Writing: When ‘characters’ take over

puppet

Let me start by saying, I’m not the best writer in the world. My descriptions can sometimes be clumsy, my stories often times dark and troubled, and I certainly have a lot to learn when it comes to exactly where a comma should go. I’m sure those of you who’ve read some of my pieces, or maybe even my Novella, would be able to point out more areas where I need work (take note, you don’t have to point these out here ;)).

From when I started, writing has been more than a hobby for me. When I write, the characters often take on a life of their own – I would have a clear plan in my head for just how I want a specific character to act, but then against all odds, the character turns into a person and starts making their own decisions. It’s as if somewhere in the story the character-turn-person puts their foot down and says: “This is how I will act and if you don’t like it you can shove off!” Of course they don’t actually say that (laughs uncomfortably), I just think they do.

Being an obsessive, compulsive control freak, I used to struggle with this aspect of writing. A power struggle ensued and I was slapped around a few times – my characters pummeling me in their quest to become people in their own right. Then I developed that great state of mind called INSIGHT. I started recognizing this struggle as it happened. I realised resistance was futile, and the quicker I surrendered, the quicker the story could move forward.

When weaving a tale, I usually saturate myself in the story. I see the sights, inhale the smells, feel the elements on my skin. When my ‘person’ runs for her life, my heart races as I write. When she hides, fearful of being discovered, I type quietly. My mind becomes completely consumed in the world I’m creating. Sometimes, it’s as if I’m watching the scenes play out in front of me, and I’m merely writing down what I see. Like I’m not actually the writer, but rather I’ve been sucked into someones life and am fulfilling the role of scribe.

We often times hear that writing is a solitary act. I’ve never found this to be true. Writing is full throttle engagement between writer and ‘character’. Sometimes, I imagine the characters in my stories living in another dimension, going about their day and every now and again giving me a glimpse into their lives.

I better sign off before someone calls the men in the white coats.

Much love ❤

2 thoughts on “Writing: When ‘characters’ take over

  1. Although I only write on one of my blogs admittedly I’m a photographer, not a writer. If I’ve learned anything in the two years that I’ve been blogging it’s that there’s a story behind every photo. Thank goodness for my spellchecker that also checks the appropriateness of sentence structure. I can provide an interesting tale now and then simply because I love life and have never lost my sense of humor. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

