5 Things I wish I knew when I was younger

teenagers

We all have things we wish we knew a bit sooner in life. Who knows how a few strategic changes in our knowledge could change the decisions we make. So here’s my list.

1) Life is short

When I was a teenager, 23 was old, 30 was ancient, and at 35 you might as well dig your own grave. I thought being young would last forever and had little understanding of just how short life is. Had I known, I might have spent my time  more wisely.

2) Parents are people too

I had this illusion that my parents were and should be perfect. I didn’t know or care about their daily struggles or dreams. I was wrapped up in my own world and never really got to know them until years later.

3) Being ‘cool’ means absolutely zilch

Now let me just clarify – I was never one of the ‘cool’ kids. At the time it bothered me. I thought not being one of the ‘in’ kids would affect my whole life. It didn’t. When I started working no one gave a crap who my social clique was when I was 16 years old.

4) What others think is not important

When I was younger, I spent a lot of time worrying about what others thought of me, as if their opinion somehow validated my worth. In school individuality is often frowned upon, I found that in life individuality has the promise of success as you stand out from the masses. There’s nothing more liberating than being comfortable with who you are.

5) Don’t mess with your health

If I knew then what I know now I would’ve never started smoking and then struggle for years to finally give it up. I would’ve drunk less beer, but more wine. I would’ve enjoyed myself more, but in ways that didn’t batter my body as much.

Well there you have it. My list could probably have been much longer, but I settled for these 5 things. What do you wish you knew when you were younger?

Much love XXX

2 thoughts on “5 Things I wish I knew when I was younger

Leave a reply

