REVIEW: Every Breath You Take – Bianca Sloane * * * * *

Every breath you take - Bianca Sloane

Buy this book on Amazon

STAR RATING:  5 Stars

Book Description from Amazon

Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, Natalie Scott goes jogging along Chicago’s lakefront. She likes foreign films, cinnamon gum and strawberry yogurt. She smells like sunflowers in the summer and roses in the winter.

These are just a few of the things Natalie’s stalker knows about her.

In fact, he knows everything about her.

In one brutal act of violence, Natalie’s stalker will reveal himself to her, imprisoning her in the process, determined to own her body and soul. Now trapped in a madman’s web, Natalie will find herself in a terrifying battle of wills where the only way to survive is to beat the monster at his own game. . .

 **********

MY REVIEW

I downloaded a sample of this book as I was in the mood for a Psychological thriller and this one popped up in one of my many book promotion emails. After reading the first chapter I just had to continue to the next, and the next until the Sample came to an end and I rushed onto the Amazon site to buy the full book.

This is one of those books that occupied my mind twenty four hours a day. When I wasn’t reading it, I thought about reading it. I usually have more than one book on the go. I left all the others to read this one and finished it within two days.

The story follows the life of Natalie, a quiet, careful, single young woman in her late twenties. Natalie lives with the scars of an event that occurred when she was in college, and the after effects of this event reverberates in everything she does. In a way she has moved on. She has a successful career, good friends, the possibility of future love. But, what Natalie doesn’t know might kill her.

What I liked about the book

There are heaps of things I liked about this book. The author is highly skilled in the art of creating suspense, and the book had me on the edge of my seat many many times. Natalie is a thoroughly likeable character. She is not perfect, either in looks or personality. She has hang-ups, she has acne scars, she has a sad past. She is real. She’s the kind of girl you could see yourself being friends with, which makes what happens to her so much more disturbing.

The book is written in short chapters from mainly two POV’s – that of Natalie and that of her stalker.  The stalker literally gave me the creeps. This is a guy you will do well to steer clear of. There is nothing redeeming about him. The inner workings of his mind are so deluded, so disgusting, so utterly (for lack of a better word) NUTS!  I cringed when I read his thoughts. People sometimes have this romantic view about being stalked. Some might even think of it as flattering. After you’ve read this book, you will never think along those lines again.

I liked that the book took me by surprise. It was raw in its emotion, brutal in its story telling and it spared no punches.

What I didn’t enjoy that much

I wouldn’t change anything about this book. It is perfect as is – perfectly creepy.

Final thoughts

Every Breath You Take is a skilfully written Psychological Thriller. It’s one of those books that will stay with you long after you’ve finished reading it. This was the first book I’ve read from this author, but I now count myself as a fan.

Please note: This book contains scenes that might upset sensitive readers. Violence and rape themes are explored.

STAR RATING:  A mind blowing 5 Stars

Leave a reply

