Behind the screen

good evil

This is a short post and I’m hoping for some feedback. The internet is a vast and sometimes confusing place. Within its virtual walls we’re not only capable of finding large amounts of information, we also have the opportunity to get to know people as they really are. Over the years I’ve been involved in numerous forums, some professional, some personal and some simply for fun. One thing that has fascinated me, and still continues to fascinate me, is how people act when they get behind the screen. Continue reading

Looking for some good Indie books. Do you need a review?

Okay, so I’m trying something new. I’ve gotten to a stage where I’m looking for some new reading material and am therefore looking for good Indie books to read and review. I read most genres but am a bit picky with some things. I avoid Erotica, Vampires and Werewolves (unless it’s in the vein of Bram Stoker’s Dracula). Once your character starts making out with a werewolf, I’m outta there. I’ll only read a series if all the books in the series are available. I know this makes me sound pedantic, but my time is precious and I don’t want to waste it on stuff I don’t enjoy. I read for pleasure.

My favourite genres are short Fantasies, Psychological thrillers and Mysteries. Having said that, I’ll give most books a go if they’re well written.

I read in Kindle Format.

Some things to take note of:  I do not HAVE to read your book. I will download a sample from Amazon and if the sample draws me in, my usual practice is then to buy the book. If I decide not to read and/or review your book, I reserve the right not to send notification of such or to give reasons why I made that decision.

Please also note, I work full time, have a family and am working on my own writing projects. I am also not a millionaire, so am limited in just how much I can spend on books each month. Therefore, you will have to be patient.

This is not a Review Swap offer. If you would like to read my novella and review it, I would, of course, be most pleased, but it will not affect my book review choices.

IF all the above conditions haven’t yet made you run in the other direction, you can leave an Amazon link to your book in the comments section.

XXX

REVIEW: Corridors Of My Mind – Angel Chadwick * * * * *

Corridors of My Mind - Angel Chadwick

Buy this book on Amazon

STAR RATING:  5 Stars

Book Description from Amazon

A nonfiction work; a memoir about certain aspects of the author’s life, family and community written by the author in the form of literary poetry.

 **********

MY REVIEW Continue reading

Bits from the book . . .

There were three of them. Their murmurs grew louder and louder as they crept up the wall, stretching from one side to the other. They resembled bats—big, grey, shiny bats with rubbery, pliable bodies and large ears. Sharp fangs rested over their lower lips.

I tried to squash myself into the ground as flat as my body allowed, trembling with fear. A frightful thought occurred to me—arrows and swords are useless against these demons. I turned my head toward Jakail whose eyes remained fixed on the creatures. There was no trace of fear on his face. He glared at them with a calmness that perplexed me.

Extract from Peril, The Legend of Sedrak

For sale on Amazon.

So you’re not the best writer in the world

Random words

You’ve written your first book. Maybe it’s a short story, maybe it’s an epic fantasy, perhaps you leaned more toward a gruesome horror tale. Whichever route you took, you’ve penned that masterpiece, took that fateful dive into the tumultuous sea of publishing. As soon as you pushed the ‘Publish’ button, wave after wave of doubt hit you. Did you dot all the proverbial i’s and cross all those t’s? Of course you did. You’re the best writer in the world. Words flow from your pen, oozing out with the most amazing skill. Continue reading

REVIEW: Surrogate – Tim Adler * * * *

Surrogate - Tim Adler

Buy this book on Amazon

STAR RATING:  4

Book Description from Amazon

How much is your child worth?

That’s the question Hugo and Emily Cox must answer when they get a ransom
demand for their child – from Alice, the surrogate mother they paid to carry
their baby.

The police are helpless. No law has been broken — the
baby belongs to their surrogate. And Hugo has a secret he’s keeping from his
wife that makes their search even more desperate.

Now Hugo and Emily must find their missing
daughter… even if it costs them everything they own.

Fans of Elizabeth Haynes, Sophie Hannah and Mark Edwards will love this
gripping and fast-moving thriller.

 **********

 MY REVIEW Continue reading

5 Important reasons reading is good for us

It's called readingThere’s a saying: ‘Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body’. If we take into account the enormous benefits of exercise, this phrase really starts to come alive.

Everything we read affects us in some way, whether we love or hate a story, think an article is useful or a bunch of nonsense, it still affects us. The benefits of reading have been discussed and dissected for ions, and there are literally hundreds of reasons to read more. I decided to choose five important reasons I believe reading is good for us.

1. Reading stimulates our imagination Continue reading