REVIEW: Voice of Innocence – Lindsay Detwiler * * * *

Voice of Innocence - Lindsay Detwiler

Buy this book on Amazon

STAR RATING: 4 Stars

 Book Description from Amazon

Our love was strong, unwavering, and unbreakable…or so we thought.

We’ve all heard the saying: you never forget your first love. For some, however, perhaps the better terminology is haunted—haunted with the memories, the connections, and the life-changing relationship.

So begins the tale of Emma Ranstein and Corbin Jones, two typical teenagers who travel the road of first love together, hearts sealed by a seemingly impenetrable bond.

When Corbin Jones is convicted of murder and faces years in prison for a crime he didn’t commit, though, their love is put to the test. As Emma and Corbin await his release from prison decades later, both reflect on the power of a relationship neither has gotten over.

Their unique story speaks to a universal heartstring within all of us: how do we move on past a first love if we aren’t meant to do so? More importantly, it reminds us that there is hope if the heart leads the way.

 **********

 MY REVIEW

Voice of Innocence by Lindsay Detwiler is a sad tale of love, loss, regret and guilt.

Teenagers Emma and Corbin find each other while navigating the ups and downs of adolescence. They fall madly in love, a love that is deepened and strengthened over time through both the happy and sad moments of their lives. Then the unthinkable happens and the happy ending, as they planned it, gets snatched away by the cruel arm of circumstance.

What I liked about the book

The love story was beautiful and magical. I loved Corbin – his humour, his horribly tragic personal life, his impulsivity and his temper – I loved all of it. For the most part Emma was a likeable character, however I preferred reading the story from Corbin’s point of view. Emma’s mum was hilarious. She was rude and funny and weird, all at the same time.

The book really sucked me in, and I just couldn’t wait to see how it ended. And then, I wasn’t sure about the ending. Would I have made the same choice? I don’t know. I liked that it made me think, and that it surprised me. I was hoping for a nice tidy ending, but that would’ve been too easy, too unrealistic and not half as good.

The book was very well written. The dialogue was witty and natural, the writing flowed nicely and the pace was spot on.

What I didn’t enjoy that much

At times there were a tad too much description for my personal taste, too many details about all the things Emma and Corbin did together.

Final thoughts

I really enjoyed this book and read it within a couple of days. Author Lindsay Detwiler poured a lot of emotion into the story and it truly pulled on my heart strings. I found myself whishing everything would work out well for everyone, while knowing deep down that someone was bound to get hurt.

A deep and lovely story.

 

STAR RATING:  4 Stars

Leave a reply

