REVIEW: The Calypsis Project (Volume 1) – Brittany M. Willows * * * *

The Calypsis Project - Brittany M. Willows

Buy this book on Amazon

STAR RATING:  4 Stars

Book Description from Goodreads

It’s the year 2438. Ten years ago, an ill-fated encounter on a mining world triggered a devastating war between the United Nations Planetary Defense and an alien organization known as the Drocain Royal Empire.

With no sign of a conclusion in sight, and with mankind’s very existence at stake, the men and women of the UNPD have been forced into desperation.

When Corporal Alana Carmen stumbles upon an encrypted communications device, she learns that there is more to the conflict than a simple war-for-worlds, and to uncover the truth, she must make allies of those she once considered enemies.

And now, the fate of the entire galaxy may rest on the shoulders of a single alien warrior . . .

After being publicly shamed at his own Coming of Age ceremony, Kenon Valinquint enrolls in the Drocain Royal Empire in the hope of one day redeeming himself.

Unbeknownst to the young Drahkori warrior, this decision has set in motion a staggering chain of events that could very well change the direction of the war, and the known history of the universe, forever.

 **********

 MY REVIEW

Science Fiction is not my favourite genre of book as I usually get so entangled in the technological jargon within the story that I often end up losing sight of the plot. So, it was with some trepidation that I downloaded the sample for The Calypsis Project by Brittany M. Willows. I wondered if it was going to be one of those Sci Fi stories where I have to concentrate so hard to envision all the futuristic gadgets that my head eventually explodes. I needn’t have worried. The Calypsis Project, while packed full of space tech, was so well written I never once felt like I was drowning in a sea of things unknown.

The story centres mainly around Kenon, our unlikely alien hero. He comes from a planet that has essentially distanced itself from the war that has been raging for a decade. So it is surprising when Kenon decideds to leave his home planet and join the conflict.

What I liked about the book

Like I said before, this book was well written. I loved that I could so easily visualise the planets, the aliens and the space tech. Willows shows great skill when it comes to descriptive prose which allowed the words on the page to come alive.

The book is written in third person from different perspectives. I enjoyed reading the story from Kenon’s point of view and found that I could identify with him even though he was an alien. Maybe that says something about me :).

There are a number of interesting characters. Kenon is complicated and troubled with self esteem issues while Alana is feisty and self-assured – at least on the surface. Sometimes I didn’t like her and other times I loved her. The Queen was a strange one, and I can’t help wondering if there’s a story behind the story. All will be revealed eventually I’m sure.

What I didn’t enjoy that much

There was only one thing that niggled me and that was early on in the book. I thought Alana confided in Kenon too quickly. She didn’t know what The Calypsis Project was and yet, after hearing something she thought sounded a bit strange, she decided to confide in the enemy instead of taking her suspicions to her own people. I thought that was strange.

Final thoughts

This was a very good read and I look forward to the second book in the series.

STAR RATING:  4 Stars

Leave a reply

